the rigorous m

bits and bobs, quotes and catching up

quote: wilde on desire

Posted by rigorousm on February 4, 2011

SALOME: If thou hadst seen me though hadst loved me. If saw thee, and I loved thee. Oh, how I loved thee! I love thee yet, Iokannon. I love only thee…. I am athirst for thy beauty; I am ahungry for thy body; and neither wine nor apples can appease my desire. What shall I do now, Iokannon? Neither the floods nor the great waters can quench my passion. I was a princess, and thou didst scorn me. I was a virgin, and thou didst take my virginity from me. I was chaste, and thou didst fill my veins with fire…. Ah! ah! wherefore didst thou not look at me? If thou hadst looked at me thou hadst loved me. Well I know that thou wouldst have loved me, and the mystery of Love is greater than the mystery of Death.

– Oscar Wilde, trans. Alfred Douglas – Salome

Leave a Reply

 
