the rigorous m

bits and bobs, quotes and catching up

quotes: on flaneurs

Posted by rigorousm on January 2, 2011

HANS BECKERT: It’s there all the time, driving me to wander the streets, following me, silently, but I can feel it there. It’s me, pursuing myself! I want to escape, to escape from myself! But it’s impossible. I can’t escape, I have to obey it. I have to run, run endless streets. I want to escape, to get away! And I’m pursued by ghosts…. But I can’t remember anything about it! But who will believe me? Who knows what it’s like to be me? How I’m forced to act, how I must, must… don’t want to, but must! And then a voice screams! I can’t bear to hear it! I can’t go on! I can’t… I can’t….

(Fritz Lang’s M)

Leave a Reply

 
